Review: The Law of Tall Girls by Joanne Macgregor

review picture 1
Review:

As soon as I read the title of this book – I knew this was a book for me. I’ve always been considered “tall” – though by the female protagonist, Peyton’s, standards I’m sure I’m just average height (I’m 5’10 whereas Peyton is over 6 ft.) However, I think those few inches separating us can be ignored based on our similarities.  Throughout the book Peyton’s challenges echoed my own experiences.  Struggling to shop for jeans that fit properly? Been there. Developing a height radar to judge how tall people are? Done that. And the ensuing frustrations that occur when you see a small girl with a tall guy? Hell hath no fury like a tall lady scorned.

So if you are looking for a cute, contemporary, young adult read then I do recommend this novel. While it is filled with a few standard high school cliches – the plot brings light to struggles that aren’t usually talked about – tall girl problems. It was relatable to me and I really enjoyed making those connections.   However, the height issues aren’t the main points driving the plot. There are some other intriguing and engaging side plots that make you feel a whirlwind of emotions. I won’t go into them for the sake of spoiling the book – you’ll just have to read it to find out for yourself!

The one daunting thing about this book was that it is a little bit on the longer side of a contemporary read. For me, I’m used to reading contemporary reads in just a couple hours but this one definitely took me longer. Despite the length though, the story line didn’t lag.

Over all, I really enjoyed this book. It was light and refreshing and included a lot of important messages. The Law of Tall Girls is out NOW and you can pick up the book here.

Synopsis:

When you really stand out, can you ever fit in?

Seventeen-year-old Peyton Lane is a tall girl. So tall, it’s the only thing most people notice about her.

On impulse, she accepts a bet to prove she can be as attractive and desirable as other girls. Now she just needs to go on four dates (including the prom) with one of the guys on her very short list of very tall boys.

Number one on the list is Jay Young – the new guy that Peyton already likes way more than she should. Because not only is Jay already taken, he’s also breaking her Law of Tall Girls, and he’s determined to discover the awful secret she’s been hiding for most of her life.

Funny and romantic, The Law of Tall Girls is a feel-good, heart-warming read for anyone who’s ever felt different, or like they just don’t belong. 

This young adult contemporary romance will appeal to fans of Kasie West, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Julie Buxbaum and Morgan Matson.

Also check out:

Goodreads

Joanne Macgregor

 

 

 

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella_72dpi “Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

Fairy tale retellings seem to be growing trend within young adult fiction. But with the added bonus of geekery and fandoms, Geekerella by Ashley Poston stands out among the crowds. Based on the classic tale of Cinderella, this cute and fun romance was a quick and enjoyable read.  Continue reading “Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston”