Review: Bro Code by Kendall Ryan

BroCode teaser6.jpg
Happy Monday fellow bibliophiles!

In case the title of this post didn’t tip you off, I have a new book up for review! Bro Code by Kendall Ryan is  her newest contemporary release – and it was so good! In one sitting I completely binge read the whole thing!

I absolutely loved Ava and Barrett, the two main leads. Their chemistry was spot on, and despite some of the plot points being pretty cliche, there was a twist that I did NOT see coming. Once that point was revealed I was FUMING – I won’t spoil it for you, but it’s a gooder.

Honestly the only issue I had with this book was the setting/time of the story.  It was snowing and described as being super cold, which was weird as I was reading outside in 26 degree Celsius weather (79F for all you Americans out there)!

But all in all, this was another great contemporary romance read by Kendall Ryan. The trope was “brother’s friend”, which is one of my favourite romances to read. The slow-burn and trying to deny the growing attraction between the two main characters was so well done. Read the brief synopsis below, and be sure to add this book to your TBR!

SYNOPSIS:

From New York Times bestselling author Kendall Ryan comes a flirty new standalone about falling for your older brother’s best friend.

There’s pretty much only one rule when you’re a guy.

Don’t be a douche.

Turns out, the fastest way to break that rule is to fall for your best friend’s sister.

Ava’s brilliant, sharp-tongued, gorgeous, and five years younger than me.

She’s the sexual equivalent of running with scissors. In a word, she’s dangerous. And completely off-limits.

Falling for her could ruin everything.

Yet I can’t seem to stop, even when her company is threatened by a lawsuit, and my promotion hinges on representing the opposing client—and winning.

I can’t see a way out of this mess that doesn’t end in a broken friendship, a broken heart, or a ruined career.

I may have broken the bro code when I fell for Ava. But do I have the balls to handle what comes next?

WHERE TO BUY: 

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR:

A New York Times, Wall Street Journal, and USA Today bestselling author of more than two dozen titles, Kendall Ryan has sold over 1.5 million books and her books have been translated into several languages in countries around the world. She’s a traditionally published author with Simon & Schuster and Harper Collins UK, as well as an independently published author. Since she first began self-publishing in 2012, she’s appeared at #1 on Barnes & Noble and iBooks charts around the world. Her books have also appeared on the New York Times and USA Today bestseller lists more than three dozen times. Ryan has been featured in such publications as USA Today, Newsweek, and InTouch Magazine.

Visit her at: www.kendallryanbooks.com for the latest book news, and fun extras

Subscribe to Newletter

Facebook Twitter | Pinterest | Goodreads Amazon Author Page

 

 

 

 

REVIEW: Two Wedding Crashers by Meghan Quinn

TWC available now.jpg

It’s review time and man, is this a good one! I was lucky enough to receive an ARC for Two Wedding Crashers by Megan Quinn – courtesy of Inkslinger PR (seriously they are the best!!) So without delay – let’s get into the good stuff!

Review:
I read this book immediately after finishing book one, so I loved how we got to continue with Beck’s story. I grew to enjoy his sexy demeanour and bad-ass vibe, so it was fun to get inside his head this time around. Rylee was also a fun female-lead to follow around. She has relatable quirks and her awkward moments felt like I was reading a autobiography. To say Rylee and I are similar is an understatement! The writing was fresh and fun, and I felt myself laughing out loud at some of the antics. I was starting to find myself looking forward to Rylee and Beck banters – they were so fun!

In regards to the romance – it was definitely an “insta-love” moment, but it was set up in a way that wasn’t too cliche and it was fun getting to see their relationship grow. All the little twists and turns were surprising (though I did guess correctly on a few!)

My only issue with the book was the ending – and I had a similar problem with book one. The book was wrapped up to quickly for my liking, and there wasn’t enough conflict for me. Maybe that’s just my cynical side rearing it’s ugly head- but I would have loved for a little more angst. However, this was a small issue – and the book truly was a fun and enjoyable read.

I recommend this book to anyone who is a fan of Emma Hart and Kennedy Fox! It’s a perfect romantic comedy with enough emotional turmoil to make the story feel real and relatable.

SYNOPSIS: 

I don’t know what love is anymore.

Well, that’s not entirely true, but I’m going to tell you a little secret: I’ve lost the spark.

You know the kind of spark I’m talking about?

Where butterflies take flight in your stomach from two hands innocently colliding. Or catching your breath when you first meet someone attractive. Yeah, that spark.

Except I haven’t felt that feeling in forever; there is nothing left inside of me.

Normally, this wouldn’t be a problem–but I’m a writer on a serious deadline, and my editor is breathing down my neck for a romantic, Nicholas Sparks type love story. No pressure, right?

That’s how I find myself flying across the country to crash a wedding in the name of research, dress and heels stuffed into my small suitcase.

It should be the easiest book research ever. Drinking some free champagne, basking in the love of two strangers, and tapping into my romantic side. That will be a breeze. I’m a pro. I can handle this.

Until I mistakenly end up in the wrong hotel room, naked as the day I was born, with the sexiest human I have ever met staring me down, wondering what I’m doing taking a shower in his bathroom. I don’t think calling it research will get me out of this pickle.

GOODREADS http://bit.ly/2FgXO0i

US: http://amzn.to/2FhZzyG

UK:  http://amzn.eu/2FoZO22 

CA:  http://a.co/4hoiQoq 

AU:  http://amzn.to/2H8eAzx

 

 

 

 

Review: The Law of Tall Girls by Joanne Macgregor

review picture 1
Review:

As soon as I read the title of this book – I knew this was a book for me. I’ve always been considered “tall” – though by the female protagonist, Peyton’s, standards I’m sure I’m just average height (I’m 5’10 whereas Peyton is over 6 ft.) However, I think those few inches separating us can be ignored based on our similarities.  Throughout the book Peyton’s challenges echoed my own experiences.  Struggling to shop for jeans that fit properly? Been there. Developing a height radar to judge how tall people are? Done that. And the ensuing frustrations that occur when you see a small girl with a tall guy? Hell hath no fury like a tall lady scorned.

So if you are looking for a cute, contemporary, young adult read then I do recommend this novel. While it is filled with a few standard high school cliches – the plot brings light to struggles that aren’t usually talked about – tall girl problems. It was relatable to me and I really enjoyed making those connections.   However, the height issues aren’t the main points driving the plot. There are some other intriguing and engaging side plots that make you feel a whirlwind of emotions. I won’t go into them for the sake of spoiling the book – you’ll just have to read it to find out for yourself!

The one daunting thing about this book was that it is a little bit on the longer side of a contemporary read. For me, I’m used to reading contemporary reads in just a couple hours but this one definitely took me longer. Despite the length though, the story line didn’t lag.

Over all, I really enjoyed this book. It was light and refreshing and included a lot of important messages. The Law of Tall Girls is out NOW and you can pick up the book here.

Synopsis:

When you really stand out, can you ever fit in?

Seventeen-year-old Peyton Lane is a tall girl. So tall, it’s the only thing most people notice about her.

On impulse, she accepts a bet to prove she can be as attractive and desirable as other girls. Now she just needs to go on four dates (including the prom) with one of the guys on her very short list of very tall boys.

Number one on the list is Jay Young – the new guy that Peyton already likes way more than she should. Because not only is Jay already taken, he’s also breaking her Law of Tall Girls, and he’s determined to discover the awful secret she’s been hiding for most of her life.

Funny and romantic, The Law of Tall Girls is a feel-good, heart-warming read for anyone who’s ever felt different, or like they just don’t belong. 

This young adult contemporary romance will appeal to fans of Kasie West, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Julie Buxbaum and Morgan Matson.

Also check out:

Goodreads

Joanne Macgregor

 

 

 

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella_72dpi “Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

Fairy tale retellings seem to be growing trend within young adult fiction. But with the added bonus of geekery and fandoms, Geekerella by Ashley Poston stands out among the crowds. Based on the classic tale of Cinderella, this cute and fun romance was a quick and enjoyable read.  Continue reading “Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston”