Review: The Wolves of Winter by Tyrell Johnson

Welcome to my first blog post of 2018! I’ve made it a New Year’s resolution that I’m going to focus more on posting for this blog. I let it go for most of 2017, with only posting a handful of times. But this year I want to get more into a schedule and post more routinely. Fingers crossed I can keep it up!

ANYWAY – now that we got that out of the way, let’s get into the review! This book was the second book I read this year (after K.A. Tucker’s Keep Her Safe – review coming next week!) and I’m honestly starting my 2018 reading year on such a great foot. The Wolves of Winter was an incredible debut author by Tyrell Johnson.

the wolves of winter

Title: The Wolves of Winter
Author: Tyrell Johnson
Rating: 4.5 / 5 ⭐️’s
Synopsis: A captivating tale of humanity pushed beyond its breaking point, of family and bonds of love forged when everything is lost, and of a heroic young woman who crosses a frozen landscape to find her destiny. This debut novel is written in a post-apocalyptic tradition that spans The Hunger Games and Station Eleven but blazes its own distinctive path.

Review:

The novel follows Lynn McBride (her full name is Gwendolynn, but do not call her that) and her family, trying to survive in the wild of Canada’s Yukon Territory.  They were forced from their comfortable lifestyle in Chicago years ago, and eventually their escape has brought them to the Yukon. Johnson does an incredible job describing the various situations that the characters run into. With such realistic descriptions, the reader experiences the harsh truths that the wilderness has to tell, and fully witnesses the reality of trying to make it on one’s own with no power or modern resources. It is a dystopian future that feels all too accurate and a potential foreshadowing of decades to come.

With survival at the forefront of everyone’s mind, Lynn starts to uncover the reasons for their change of lifestyle. Situations become more clear (or unclear depending how you look at it) as a stranger stumbles upon their humble “village” of makeshift cabins. Overall, the McBride’s past comes back to haunt them and their solitary utopia may no longer be a place of refuge and safety.

The writing style is fast past and engaging. The reader feels immersed in this world and it isn’t always pretty. There are dark moments, some that could be triggering depending on one’s own experience, but in the end the power of independence and determination is shown. At times the plot did lag – but in a way that was reminiscent of Rae Carson’s Walk on Earth a Stranger.  The daily routines of this humble and harrowing lifestyle could seem monotonous, but it sets the setting of the story up perfectly and shows the reader the reality of the situation.

I highly recommend this book to anyone who enjoys dystopian fiction, mixed with suspense and the “unknown”. The reader is truly left wondering what will happen next. Some of the conclusions were predictable, but overall the story was engaging. I can’t wait to see what Tyrell Johnson comes up with next – hopefully a sequel, as this book left a few strings untied.

 

Thank you Simon & Schuster Canada for sending me an advanced reader copy of this book. It is greatly appreciated!

Review: The Law of Tall Girls by Joanne Macgregor

review picture 1
Review:

As soon as I read the title of this book – I knew this was a book for me. I’ve always been considered “tall” – though by the female protagonist, Peyton’s, standards I’m sure I’m just average height (I’m 5’10 whereas Peyton is over 6 ft.) However, I think those few inches separating us can be ignored based on our similarities.  Throughout the book Peyton’s challenges echoed my own experiences.  Struggling to shop for jeans that fit properly? Been there. Developing a height radar to judge how tall people are? Done that. And the ensuing frustrations that occur when you see a small girl with a tall guy? Hell hath no fury like a tall lady scorned.

So if you are looking for a cute, contemporary, young adult read then I do recommend this novel. While it is filled with a few standard high school cliches – the plot brings light to struggles that aren’t usually talked about – tall girl problems. It was relatable to me and I really enjoyed making those connections.   However, the height issues aren’t the main points driving the plot. There are some other intriguing and engaging side plots that make you feel a whirlwind of emotions. I won’t go into them for the sake of spoiling the book – you’ll just have to read it to find out for yourself!

The one daunting thing about this book was that it is a little bit on the longer side of a contemporary read. For me, I’m used to reading contemporary reads in just a couple hours but this one definitely took me longer. Despite the length though, the story line didn’t lag.

Over all, I really enjoyed this book. It was light and refreshing and included a lot of important messages. The Law of Tall Girls is out NOW and you can pick up the book here.

Synopsis:

When you really stand out, can you ever fit in?

Seventeen-year-old Peyton Lane is a tall girl. So tall, it’s the only thing most people notice about her.

On impulse, she accepts a bet to prove she can be as attractive and desirable as other girls. Now she just needs to go on four dates (including the prom) with one of the guys on her very short list of very tall boys.

Number one on the list is Jay Young – the new guy that Peyton already likes way more than she should. Because not only is Jay already taken, he’s also breaking her Law of Tall Girls, and he’s determined to discover the awful secret she’s been hiding for most of her life.

Funny and romantic, The Law of Tall Girls is a feel-good, heart-warming read for anyone who’s ever felt different, or like they just don’t belong. 

This young adult contemporary romance will appeal to fans of Kasie West, Stephanie Perkins, Jenny Han, Julie Buxbaum and Morgan Matson.

Also check out:

Goodreads

Joanne Macgregor

 

 

 

Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston

Geekerella_72dpi “Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.”

Fairy tale retellings seem to be growing trend within young adult fiction. But with the added bonus of geekery and fandoms, Geekerella by Ashley Poston stands out among the crowds. Based on the classic tale of Cinderella, this cute and fun romance was a quick and enjoyable read.  Continue reading “Review: Geekerella by Ashley Poston”